30 Day Video Game Challenge

30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 24: Favourite Classic Game

Not quite sure what exactly is meant here by ‘classic’, retro or a staple game? I’m going to say The Legend of Zelda because if anything’s a classic it’s that series. Picking a singular game from that series as a classic is tricky though. Weirdly I haven’t actually played that many really old games at all, I missed the boat on all the classic games a bit, including the super old Legend of Zelda games! I’ve played some of the remastered versions recently like Ocarina of Time and Majoras Mask but I didn’t enjoy them quite as much as The Minish Cap. I just asked my other half if The Minish Cap counts as a classic because it was the first Legend of Zelda game I ever completed and he said it was too recent… But it came out in 2004, that’s 13 years ago which is pretty old now so I don’t know. I also Googled ‘Classic Games’ for inspiration and have not played ANY of them, except Pac Man and Super Mario, and I’m afraid I was never really into those. For me The Minish Cap is a classic, I remember feeling so pleased with myself when I managed to to beat the game, it was probably the first time I ever completed what I deemed to be a ‘proper’ game, I know it’s not really difficult but at the time my gaming wasn’t very varied and The Minish Cap was the most difficult thing in my gaming library.

Any other Minish Cap fans? Would you say it’s a ‘classic’?  Which is your favourite classic game?

Minish cap.jpg

 

10 thoughts on “30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 24: Favourite Classic Game

  1. That’s interesting. What age would a game have to reach to be considered “classic”? And what about “modern classics”? Half Life 2 came out in 2004, is that not a classic as it’s also only 13 years old?

    I might argue that any game that is considered to be something all “gamers” should play (regardless of its age) would be considered a classic.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That was my question when I got to this one. I picked SMB2, because that was my first game obsession, but I could’ve gone with FFVII, which is my forever favorite, and I’d say it’s a classic. I guess it really depends.

    Hehe in 20-30 years the games were playing now will be classics and the classics will be ancient 😋

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

