30 Day Video Game Challenge

30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 22: A Game Sequel Which Disappointed You

Neverwinter Nights 2: Storm of Zehir. What even was this? It was so weird.

  • I didn’t like that you create your team (or some of them anyway) rather than meet companions as you play, that made it feel like the developers had given up and were like “ah I can’t be bothered, just get them to make their own team”.
  • Khelgar’s voice had changed! My best friend had a different voice! No!!!
  • Suddenly I’m on a tropical island which is really unlike any other area ever seen in The Forgotten Realms, and maybe that was the point, but it just did not work, dinosaur enemies in a world of goblins, trolls and shadow kings? I don’t know, seems a bit out of place.
  • The map! What was the weird world map where you walk across it like a giant and then get random encounters sprung on you?
  • Why am I here? What is happening? The other expansion pack (Mask of The Betrayer) continued on from the original story but this one is like “hmmm NWN hasn’t had a tropical area yet… Tropical means sea… Sea means boat… They’re on a boat…”
  • The story was about trade and sales and… I don’t know some merchant in trouble? Yawn.

Definitely not the worst game in the world by any stretch of the imagination, but disappointing? Yes.

snake-and-skull_wide

Which game sequel disappointed you? Have you played Storm of Zehir?

7 thoughts on “30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 22: A Game Sequel Which Disappointed You

  1. I heard one of the Neverwinter Nights expansions, Mask of the Betrayer, is supposed to be really good, but I haven’t gotten around to playing it or the base game, unfortunately.

    Anyway, when it comes to disappointing sequels, I’d say two that come to mind are Metroid: Other M and Mother 3. Both of them tried to kick the storytelling of their respective franchises up a notch, but ultimately failed (though I admit Metroid: Other M is the bigger disaster by far).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mask of the betrayer was very good, really liked that. You should play the base games for sure though! The first neverwinter nights has some great expansions too.

      I’ve never actually played metroid! I really should. I’ll keep that in mind if I ever play it

      Liked by 1 person

    2. You’re the second person I’ve seen express disappointment with Mother 3! I liked it, well I liked the beginning and setup with Hinawa, Lukas, and Klaus, but I felt the ending was disappointing. It didn’t really explain much and kind of left the characters floating in limbo.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Er… I think that may have been me both times; it’s one of my go-to answers when asked that question. I tend to disqualify works with weak endings from obtaining a passing grade. Though to be fair, I know there are definitely sequels out there that dropped the ball way harder (i.e. Ultima IX and Sonic ’06).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s very possible! I’m awful at source information lol. I remember asking the person why they didn’t like the game, and they mentioned it was the ending, so it’s very possible it was you. I get annoyed when great stories have bad endings. It’s one of the reasons I wanted to watch Mass Effect in its entirety instead of just catching bits and pieces of it when my husband would play. I’d seen the ending and was pretty annoyed, but I wanted to give it another chance. However, the one I saw was updated, because BioWare decided to appease the detractors. I definitely liked the ending I recently saw, but I kind of wish I’d seen the original one so I could make a better judgement. Ah well.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Bought NWN2 during a Steam Sale and regretted purchasing it within 20 minutes. Seemed extremely convoluted and needlessly complicated when I remember having so much in the first one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

