30 Day Video Game Challenge

30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 18: Favourite Protagonist

I will have to say Link from The Legend of Zelda is probably my favourite protagonist, if you saw my posts about my Comic Con cosplay (see them both here and here!) you may have guessed this. Despite the fact that he’s a silent character, which usually prevents me from creating a bond with the silent protagonist, he’s still got personality, I just can’t put my finger on how. Wind Waker Link is probably my favourite Link though, he has some good facial expressions going on and he’s adorable too. I love the cartoon look they used for that game. He’s also just a very selfless, brave and generous character, again despite his silence this all comes across somehow in his reactions to situations and the side missions he can do, although sometimes he has a cheeky side as well, like in Skyward Sword when you can choose to give Cawlin’s letter to the ghost hand in the toilet rather than the girl he fancies and then the hand falls in love with him and haunts him, I thought that was funny.

Oh yeah, and he can TURN INTO A WOLF!!!

 

Who’s your favourite protagonist? Any Link fans out there? What’s your fevourite Legend of Zelda game? (mine’s Twilight Princess)

7 thoughts on “30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 18: Favourite Protagonist

  1. Link is one of my all-time favorite game characters, despite the fact that he doesn’t speak. Nintendo is great at giving him expressions in the later games, because you can’t do much with the pixel-games of yesteryear. Link to the Past was my first Zelda game, but I think it’s Minish Cap that holds its place in my heart as my favorite game. It’s super fun and cute, and Vaati is a refreshing villain in comparison to Ganon. I mean, you have Aaganihm (doubtful I spelled that right) in LTTP, but he turns out to be Ganon in the end.

    I like how in BOTW you can really shape Link more than you could in other games. There’s no strict way to play through the game, unlike in the other iterations. That’s what puts it high up on my love list.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. My boyfriend bought it for me to celebrate me finishing my first year of graduate school, so we’ve been passing the Wii U back and forth between our apartments to let each other play it. It’s so amazing. I’m probably going to ask for a Switch for my birthday, but I don’t think I”ll get Zelda on it since I’ve heard there’s not much difference between it and the Wii U version.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Link definitely has personality! His facial expressions are more than adequate to convey what he’s thinking/feeling. He’s more than just an avatar even though he doesn’t speak (though he does in the manga lol). TP is probably my favorite, too, because Midna is my favorite Zelda character!

    I’m turn between Cecil from FFIV and Celes from FFVI for my favorite protagonist. I love them both for various reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The manga about it is really good, and it’s not weird that he has lines in that. I think it would be weirder if he didn’t, but in the game definitely no!

        I always get an odd recognition whenever I’ve heard of something before I actually experience the thing it comes from.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

