30 Day Video Game Challenge

30 Day Video Game Challenge! Days 16 and 17 (oops)

I missed yesterday! Very sorry, I know you were all dying to know which game I think has the best cut scenes. Yesterday was moving day and today I started my new job (all went well!) so I was a bit preoccupied. I’ll do today as a two parter instead.

Day 16: Game with the best cutscenes

I guess Final Fantasy holds the record for this but as I haven’t played that many of them… I’m not sure. This one’s a bit of a struggle for me, the games that I can think of (Witcher, The Last of Us…) I haven’t actually finished yet so it seems unfair to say them but then again I haven’t finished Bioshock yet either and the beginning scene always springs to mind when I think about good cut scenes. The first time I saw the bit where you get in the lift and you are taken to Rapture it was amazing.

Bioshock

 

Day 17: Best Antagonist

GLaDOS from Portal, hands down. I have never loved an antagonist more. She is brilliant. I love her sarcastic, mean commentary and I was actually quite sad when I beat her in the first game. Here’s a nice lengthy quote for your enjoyment: “There was even going to be a party for you. A big party that all your friends were invited to. I invited your best friend, the Companion Cube. Of course, he couldn’t come because you murdered him. All your other friends couldn’t come, either, because you don’t have any other friends because of how unlikable you are. It says so right here in your personnel file: “Unlikable. Liked by no one. A bitter, unlikable loner, whose passing shall not be mourned. Shall NOT be mourned.” That’s exactly what it says. Very formal. Very official. It also says you were adopted, so that’s funny, too.”

Glados

I wish I had that sass.

7 thoughts on “30 Day Video Game Challenge! Days 16 and 17 (oops)

Leave a Reply

