30 Day Video Game Challenge

30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 10 (and a Day 9 update)

First off I would like to cheat a bit and change my answer from Day 9- The saddest game scene, because I didn’t take it seriously as I was struggling to think of something. Then yesterday I read a post by Hairless Ginger about Undertale and was reminded of when I was watching a Let’s Play (from the Game Grumps/Steam Train guys if you’re interested) of the Undertale genocide run – Spoilers ahead! During the genocide run there is a part where you have to fight one of the most beloved characters, Papyrus, and rather than attack you back he will spare you and tell you that you can still turn everything around until finally it’s just his head left and he says “I believe in you” but then, being the genocide run, you still kill him. I remember sneakily watching the Let’s Play at work (I usually just listen to them but I was hooked on the story for this one) and I got really upset and had to go to the bathroom in case I cried. It was worse as well because in the Let’s Play they played the pacifist run first so I liked the character and knew what could happen if you weren’t killing everything.

Papyrus.png

On to Day 10 – Best Gameplay

I’m going to say my all time favourite for this one: Neverwinter Nights. It’s the game that fully cemented my love of RPGs, the story is so good, the characters are great, the music is great, I love the D&D inspired play style of it, it’s incredibly immersive… I just love it. Everything about it screams “you’re off on a magical adventure!!!”. Character building is fun too, I once made a Dragon Disciple which meant she could breathe fire and had wings. I could go on about this forever, but I’ve already done a post about it so I would just be repeating it all.

NWN logo

Which game do you think has the best gameplay? Have you ever played Undertale on the genocide run? If so, how?

12 thoughts on “30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 10 (and a Day 9 update)

  1. Neverwinter Nights was pretty good, I put a lot of hours into that game! And Undertale definitely has some very impactful moments, strong choice for a sad game.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. For me, the saddest game scene will always be one from ME3 with a certain drell. I’ve never cried during a game before, and certainly not to the point where I had to actually collect myself in order to keep playing. Ugh.

    I’ve never played Undertale, but I really should. Everything I read about it sounds amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh boy, I haven’t played the Genocide run in Undertale, but I’m well aware of it and have seen the final boss. For today’s answer though, I love the gameplay of Super Mario World. I know it sounds simple, being that it’s a 2D game, but it really mastered the feel and weight of Mario. It’s so fluid to move around each stage, whether via cape or Yoshi. I value gameplay the most in games, and Super Mario World is my all-time favorite game, so that says something!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Weirdly I never got that into Mario games, but recently I’ve been trying to play them some more and Super Mario Bros is the one I got to help me do that and it is very good. What with them bringing out Mario Maker as well you can really appreciate how difficult it can be to make levels challenging.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

