30 Day Video Game Challenge

30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 8: Best Soundtrack

This is a bit of a tricky one for me as, to be honest, unless the soundtrack is really in your face and seriously good I don’t pay too much attention to it, I should probably work on that.

I’m going to say Doom. I am not the sort of person that actively appreciates a soundtrack in a game but damn, that soundtrack can get me pumped up and on the edge of my seat. It just adds brilliantly to the whole game. When I was playing the new one there was a point where I had so much adrenaline I had to pause the game and calm down for a few minutes, it was like when you go to play paintball and you haven’t even started shooting or moved much yet but the adrenaline makes your heart race. If the music was different there is no way it would have affected me like that. I hope more games have that sort of soundtrack style in the future, it’s brilliant.

Doom-2016.jpg

Honourable mentions: Final Fantasy (I was nearly lynched when I told my other half that I hadn’t chosen that as the best soundtrack)

 

4 thoughts on “30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 8: Best Soundtrack

  1. DOOM 2016 had a great soundtrack. Definitely got the blood flowing!

    Personally, I would have to say Quake 2 had the best soundtrack, if we’re talking pure adrenaline here. That soundtrack lit my hair on fire when I first played it as a kid. I simply hadn’t heard such epic ass-kicking guitar-shredding at that point in my young life.

    Like

    1. Doom has a very heavy soundtrack, I wouldn’t listen to it without the game on because it’s too heavy for my sort of taste but I can still appreciate it.
      I was trying to think of a word beginning with F to finish that sentence for ages after reading your comment but couldn’t!

      Like

Leave a Reply

