30 Day Video Game Challenge

30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 6: Most Annoying Character

Sit down, shut up and let me tell you about Fi from Skyward Sword.

Fi
Look at her creepy, stupid face, I want to punch it so badly

After my latest rant you may have thought Tidus from Final Fantasy X would have the starring role here but oh no, I would rather have to listen to his stupid laugh from the “HA HA HA” scene (If you don’t know what that is, Google it, it’s bizarre) on a loop than have Fi as a companion on an adventure. I don’t think any character has ever annoyed me as much as Fi. I’ll take Navi over her any day. When Link’s health drops to a certain point it’s all “Master, imma let you continue playing in a sec but your health is low, maybe you should replenish it” Wow no shit, thank god you’re hear, that tense heart beat noise didn’t warn me at all.

 

NPC: “So basically you need to go here next”

Fi: “Master, I just calculated that we need to go here next”

“I KNOW HE LITERALLY JUST SAID THAT”

 

*Finds object*

Fi: “Master I have just calculated that there is a 99% chance that the object you are holding is the item you have been looking for”

“PLEASE LEAVE ME ALONE STUPID FAIRY COMPUTER”

 

I got stuck in Skyward Sword in The Silent Realm of the Lanayru Desert and if it had been any other LoZ game I would have soldiered on but I was so pissed off with Fi that I got to a point where I didn’t really care enough to continue. I don’t think I’ve ever come across a more annoying character. Here are some little comic strips I found to illustrate my point.

Fi comic 1Fi comic 2

Someone actually created her and thought it would be OK.

Which character annoys you most? Any other Fi haters out there?

 

11 thoughts on “30 Day Video Game Challenge! Day 6: Most Annoying Character

  1. This! I’ve heard a lot of people tell me Navi is worse (this conversation gets started by my “hey, listen!” ring tone), but I always found Fi far more annoying, for all the reasons you described.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. It actually does when I am getting constant notifications, and I turn it down in that situation. But usually they are far apart enough that having something loud and annoying like that is the only way I even notice my phone going off, because I never seem to feel it vibrate.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t stand Fi. Dorkly on YouTube did a video about her, and it was really, really funny and made me feel so much better about hating her haha. But yeah. There’s a 99.99% chance I did not feel the sadness the game wanted me to feel when Fi went back into the Master Sword and lost her consciousness or whatever happened…

    Issun from Okami is pretty annoying, too. He’s just a little punk and I want to smash him like an annoying little bug….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fi is also quite creepy especially when she sings. I love the idea of a spirit living in a sword, but I think they could’ve made her more endearing.

    Yuffie from FFVII annoys the hell out of me. Even though she’s a teenager, she takes the annoying child character role.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, she is creepy! Her eyes are blank and for something that’s supposed to be the spirit of something she’s too robotic.

      I’ll have to keep that in mind when I play it, a lot of anime style games seem to do that with female characters though, making them seem more childish despite their age I mean

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know I never thought of that with her, but now that you mention it, it does explain why she seems…off. Why would a spirit seem so robotic? And that game has albeit ancient robots in the ruins that are more lively (unless I’m mixing up my Zelda games lol).

        *sigh* Yeah they do. The schoolgirl thing is such a strong trope over there. There’s also apparently this really creepy one where an older guy will watch a young girl grow up and then want to get with her ugh. FFVII sort of has one of those, too, that some people love to explore in fanfiction *makes disgusted face*

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It is that one that has the ancient robots and they’re all very sweet!

        That is one of the big things that puts me off a lot of anime stuff, I just can’t get over the creepiness and it ruins a large chunk of the game or movie or whatever that I’ve been playng/watching

        Like

Leave a Reply

