General Gaming

Starting to Like Final Fantasy…

Firstly, I’d just like to make my excuses for not posting much at the moment, just in case you were missing me! I have been dedicating a lot of my free time to finishing my Comic Con costume, there seems to be an endless line of things I can do to improve it, it’s very nearly finished though which is just as well as the event is this Saturday! Brace yourselves for some Comic Con related posts next week.

Being super busy I haven’t had a lot of time to game much recently but over the weekend I took a little break and played some more Final Fantasy X. Yes, not given up on it! In fact, it is finally time for me to begrudgingly admit something that I didn’t think I would, mainly because it will give my other half an excuse to throw more of these types of games at me, *deep breath* I like Final Fantasy X. To the point where I am now playing it willingly rather than my boyfriend suggesting it as an activity, and am considering playing some of the side quest bits too (capturing all the monsters for the Monster Arena in particular). You may remember me talking about my bf introducing me to it before and me being a little on the fence about it, particularly because of my general aversion to turn-based games. Well apparently I’m nearly at the end of the game now! There are things that still annoy me about it though and if my bf was not going through it with me then I probably wouldn’t have continued with it, but now I’m too attached to the storyline and the characters to quit.

In my previous post I had said that Lulu and Kimahri were my favourites but I have to rescind half of that statement, particularly after realising just how shit Kimahri is. I still like him as a character but despite my best attempts to level him up he is just dead weight really. There was a point –SPOILERS- (when Seymour first comes back from the dead, or whatever it is that he is now, and Kimhari stays behind to hold him off while everyone runs) where my other half said “it’s a shame that when you run back to help he’ll be dead” and convinced me that he had been killed and that there’s a really sad scene coming up where all the other characters hold a funeral for him. If you have played this you know that this is of course not true, but it made so much sense for that to happen and explains why he’s such a dead weight in battle that I believed it and got prematurely upset – much to my other half’s amusement.

I’m going to indulge a little bit of ranting about Tidus as well (or Clut, as I have called him – best name ever, it suits him perfectly), he’s lucky he’s quick on his feet and can cast some white magic because there is literally no other reason to keep him around other than that. Over my weekend playthrough he died time and time again, “oh shit, the weird flan thing’s attacking… of course it’s attacking Clut… Oh and he’s dead… Again”. I am not keen on him as a character either, he makes me cringe when he says stuff because he’s trying to be the “cool” character and then there’s the “I hate my father” thing aka Daddy Issues: The Game.

Auron: “When I was on my previous pilgrimage with Lord Braska and Jecht-“

Tidus: *Bursts through the wall* “Did someone say Jecht?!”

Auron: “oh no…”

Tidus: “HE WAS NOT A GOOD FATHER, I HATE HIM, I HOPE HE DIES BUT NOT REALLY BECAUSE I DON’T REALLY HATE HIM, OR DO I? WHAT DO I EVEN KNOW ABOUT ANYTHING? YUNA, DO YOU FANCY ME YET????”

Tidus and Yuna
“Wow Yuna… That bird is far away…”

Anyway that’s my ranty bits out the way, let’s focus on the positive stuff…

  1. Rikku is awesome, even though she doesn’t hit very hard she’s really useful anyway, I’ve actually put her on Auron’s grid at the moment so while she’s still not doing over 1000 points of damage yet she will soon be hitting super hard. I have got her down as a potential future cosplay too. I have a thing for quirky, girly but tough characters.
  2. Auron looks like Jeff Goldblum. Enough said.

    auron-final-fantasy-x-jeff-goldblum
    Obviously I’m not the first person to think this
  3. The Aeon summoning was something I never really understood in other FF games because they don’t really do that much damage. There’s a huge, cinematic build up you have to sit through and then they take off a disappointing amount of HP, you might as well have just killed the thing yourself in the time it takes for the aeons to actually be summoned and do their visually impressive attacks. In X though their presence makes sense to me because you only have one character that can summon them, and that character is basically a white mage so it makes sense that she can summon something to help her out as she isn’t usually used to attack. Also they actually deal some pretty sweet damage in this one! Unfortunately I don’t think they kept this idea in any of the following games though.
  4. Finally, I actually know what’s going on! Before this the only one I properly finished was XIII and while I enjoyed it I would never be able to tell you what the hell was happening. There was a girl called Serah (or SERAAAAAAAAAAH!!! As her boyfriend pronounced it) who was imprisoned in a crystal and we were going to save her then some Australians appeared and… euuuh… Shit went down and they saved the world? No clue but it was super pretty. I have attempted to play some others as well and the plot always loses me pretty quickly. I would say that it’s a sign that I should pay more attention but I don’t really have this issue with other games.

So where am I now? (SPOILERS ahead FYI) Well I’ve just discovered that Clut/Tidus is actually a dream (why they would dream up that dude as their saviour I do not know, maybe that’s why he hates Jecht so much, Jecht actually looks capable of doing some badass shit where as Clut/Tidus forgot half his trouser leg and the front of his shirt) and Seymour is sort of drifting around being a pain in the arse. Apparently this means I’m quite close to the end. I was hoping the game would last a bit longer actually so that I could make Rikku fully badass before the end but I’m not sure that’s going to happen, although I’m sure that I can do it if I finish all the sidequests. I feel like other FF games lasted longer, not that I have a huge amount of experience with them but XIII seemed to go on for ages and I played through a lot of XII but didn’t get to the end. It’s probably because my other half has been telling me how to play and what to do so I got through it quicker rather than running around exploring and putting more time and effort into grinding, which is what I usually do.

Once X is over, my other half and I are going to play FF X-2 together, he’s not looking forward to it, looking just at the outfits alone on the cover (why is Rikku in a bikini thong thing?? And Yuna seems to have abandoned her lovely kimono outfit in favour of some booty shorts and a crop top, which I have no problem with but it seems a little out of character for her…) I’m a little bemused as well but you never know, it might be fun!

FF X2

What’s your favourite Final Fantasy game? Now that I’m open to suggestions on the JRPG front what would you recommend?

14 thoughts on “Starting to Like Final Fantasy…

  1. Ahh, FFX. Some painful memories of that game, although they aren’t so much memories as they are “oh yeah, that happened like 2 months ago”. FFX was my white whale for many years, and I finally started and finished it in about 30 hours. What saved my sanity was the Fast-Forward and Disable Encounters feature of the HD version!

    Tidus drove me absolutely nuts and while I enjoyed the story most of the time, I thought Seymore was super lame. Glad you’re enjoying it though! I enjoyed it for the most part and I’m glad I finally took it out. What it’s got going best for it is that it’s extremely linear.

    My favorite Final Fantasy is definitely FFVII, but that’s an easy answer for me since I’ve only played 7 and 10 🙂 Played it when I was a kid, and many attempts later I finally completed it at around 90 hours. That game was simply incredible. I wish I had a PS4 to play the remake whenever it comes out but I’d rather not open myself to an entire console worth of a backlog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah Seymore is a bit of a weird villain. I thought like one or two encounters with him would be it but no, I don’t quite get why he is so insistent on marrying Yuna, she’s not the only summoner, unless that’s answered later.
      I actually didn’t realise there’s a fast forward option! That would have been great! Where’s that?
      I’m in a debate about 7 with my boyfriend because it’s his favourite game but I’ve never played it and want to try the remake when it comes out but he’s really worried that it will be bad and wants me to play the original, after my reaction to 8 though I am not sure that’s the best idea, it hasn’t aged well.

      Like

  2. Very entertaining post! I’m also glad you’re not a XIII hater, haha 🙂 Final Fantasy X was my first FF experience. I found Tidus very annoying, but I loved the overall story. I tried X-2 for a few hours but didn’t like it. I hated their outfits and never really got into the story. I’ll try it again someday though.
    The XIII trilogy of games is definitely my favourite. I fell in love with the story and characters. FFVII is the other one I beat (Honestly, I’m still confused about the story in that one, but I still loved it). I’m working on finishing IV now. It’s a someday goal of mine to beat them all.
    Good luck with your Comic Con costume!

    Like

  3. Ah I can’t wait to hear (and see) more about this Comic Con costume! The last con I went to was Wizard World in Philly, but alas I didn’t dress up. The last time I did that was Halloween and I was Rarity Unicorn from My Little Pony. I have a ton of cosplays planned, but I haven’t really done much work on them. Let it be known that you’re little paragraph about it has reminded me hehe.

    *chants* One of us, one of us :p It’s funny I just posted my Final Fantasy Friday question and it was asking what game would you give to an FF newbie to start with. I said IV or VI, but the prevailing opinion is X. I could not stand Tidus’s voice acting, ughhhh omg his voice is SO annoying, and yes, he is hands down the worst dressed Final Fantasy character. It’s so freaking odd, because FF is pretty well known for it’s bad ass outfits. I mean look at Lulu! But X kind of drops the (Blitz) ball on it between Tidus and Wakka.

    I love Rikku’s swirly Al Behd eyes, and I haven’t played X-2 yet myself. I kind of skipped that one, because it seemed really out of character for everyone (especially Yuna), but I’m going to get to it during my play/replay. I…never thought about the Jeff Goldblum thing, but wow, yes, yes he does. Auron is probably my favorite FFX character. I love the bad ass old man motif.

    FFVII is my favorite Final Fantasy, game and story of all time! I’d…wait through before you play that. Experience some of the other games, because VII kind of turns a lot of things on their heads in both the series and just fantasy/sci-fi in general. It’s a major mindf**k.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Would be cool to see the cosplays you’re thinking of doing, what do you have in mind?

      A lot of people say Tidus annoys them, it’s quite funny! Maybe if you’re a blitzball player you have to give up good clothes! There seems to be a trend among them for bright yellow and sort if but not quite bare chests.

      I’ll keep your recommendation in mind about trying different ones before VII, I might try XII again because I can’t remember why I stopped playing that and I liked the characters.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Quite a few! *rummages around for list* I’ve done a few in the past mostly for Halloween. I was Finn from Star Wars: TFA last year because I pretty much just needed the jacket and lightsaber hehe. Then I was Rarity from My Little Pony the year before, but the major one I want to do is Sephiroth from FFVII. Then far easier is Martha Jones from Doctor Who, Rose Quartz and Smokey Quartz (Steven Universe), the traveler from Journey, another MLP one Princess Celestia, and then today I added Alana from Saga to my list. Aesthetically, it’s easy for me to do black female characters because obvious reasons are obvious hehe, but in terms of “acting” and whom I identify with Sephiroth all the way! That’s been on my bucket list for years, but of course I keep adding more cosplays to the mix o.O

        Yeah what is up with Wakka, too? Also it’s not like these clothes are even good for the water. The shovel thing on his shoulder cannot be good for speed swimming lol. I can get the bright colors I suppose since you want to be able to recognize who your team members are.

        I never finished XII either for whatever reason, but I liked it. I only wish they’d made Balthier and Fran the main characters instead of Vaan. I did like the missions and side quests, nor did I mind the license level up system or the gambit battle one. I’m pretty flexible when it comes to those things :p

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah that’s a cool collection of cosplays, done ones and potential ones, under your belt. I’ve not seen Steven Universe yet but I’ve heard really good things about it so I want to see it. Sephiroth would be so cool his hair and coat are awesome.

        I really liked Balthier and Fran! I agree that they should have been the main characters, so much more interesting.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Steven Universe is one of those shows that’s aimed at kids, but that’s also very accessible to adults. Highly recommend it!

        Right? They reminded me of Han and a much better looking, much more articulate Chewie lol. I think that’s what they were going for, too, since Squeenix has quite a bit of a love affair with Star Wars. They reference it in nearly every game, and, well, most of the plot revolves around an evil empire or corporation so there’s that hehe.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’ll definitely watch that when I’ve finished my current binge watching of Parks and Rec =)
        Now that you mention it I did feel the Star Wars vibe a lot in XIII, the city at the beginning was very sci fi and all the soldiers were extremely storm trooper-esque. Final Fantasy/Star Wars crossover cosplay idea…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

