Cosplay · Events

Preparing for London Comic Con 2017

Exciting event coming up soon… London MCM Comic Con 2017! I’m very excited, I’ve been once before (in 2015) and it was really fun. Last time I went I was dressed as Princess Zelda. I was very proud of my costume, it was all handmade, with me taking care of the fabric part and my friend – who was Hilda, the sort of anti-Zelda – making the golden armor. I would share a picture of me in it, but unfortunately I cringe so much when I look back at pictures because I think that I ruined it by wearing a really bad wig (I’m not blonde and my hair wasn’t long enough to go for a more natural look) so instead here’s a picture of the version of Zelda that I went as.

Princess Zelda.jpg

My overall verdict of the experience was that if I hadn’t been in costume, I wouldn’t have had such a good time. There wasn’t quite as much to do as I had hoped, there were a lot of stalls with overpriced geeky merchandise, and the special guests were not as impressive as other conventions (I hear the San Diego one has some amazing guests and that it’s huge – if I ever go to America I would love to make that a stop). I still had a great time though!

We had lots of people stopping us and asking for photos, despite my bad wig, which I was so pleased about, and we got to try out some games. Other people’s cosplays were amazing as well; I saw some incredible costumes. We also had a lot of creepy people taking pictures of us without asking permission though, which was super weird. I am in a costume, obviously I’m happy for you to take a picture of me, but when you pretend to be texting or casually walking past with your iPad camera aimed straight at me while I’m eating lunch, it’s super obvious and freaky, just ask!!!

Anyway, this year I am particularly excited because there are three special guests I want to get some autographs from: Billie Piper from Doctor Who (VERY excited about this, hoping they’ll announce David Tennant or Matt Smith at the last minute), and Summer Glau and Simon Maher from Firefly (if you haven’t seen Firefly please watch it, it’s such a good show!)

If I had known there was Doctor-Who-special-guest potential, I would have gone with a Doctor Who cosplay I’ve beenn planning. But the idea that I have for it would take a lot of work, and I’m too invested in (and excited about) my costume to change my mind now…

So with that let’s take a peek at my costume in the making…

Bracer

Ok that one was a bit subtle… How about now?

Top

Potentially still a bit tricky… Now?

Sword shield

It is of course Link from The Legend of Zelda! I had actually wanted to do this the first time I went in 2015, but then my friend wanted to be Hilda and I had another friend who wanted to be Link, so it made more sense for me to be Zelda. I really wanted to go all out with my costume this year, because while it’s technically a very simple costume (you just need the tunic, a belt and a hat and everyone would know who you are) there are lots of little details that can make the costume go from budget basics to super epic cosplay time. I often make my own clothes so I am confident in my sewing abilities for the costume. I was going to give craft foam a go but then my Dad, who has taken up leather work (everyone thinks that sounds a bit odd when I say that, I suppose it’s not a very common hobby), offered to make my bracer, gloves, belts and other little bits (the bracer and gloves in the pictures are his handiwork!) My family have become very crafty in recent years – my Mum makes quilts, crafty things, and clothes too (she has a blog about it if you like that sort of thing) so I am very fortunate to have that extra boost for my cosplay projects!

Link

Right now it’s only two and a half weeks until Comic Con, so I need to knuckle down and get everything sorted! I will make a post about the event and show off my costume when it’s all finished. Hopefully it will look as epic as I’m hoping! Now I just need to figure out how I can take my Doctor Who poster with me for Billie Piper to sign without ruining the effect of my costume.

My wonderful UK readers – Are you going to London Comic Con this year? If so are you dressing up? Maybe I’ll see you there!

Equally-wonderful American readers – Have you ever been to San Diego Comic Con? What’s it like?

11 thoughts on “Preparing for London Comic Con 2017

  1. Damn that’s a cool costume. I live in Toronto and we have Fan Expo, which is our version of SDCC. It’s great – there’s always lots of quality guests and a huge artist alley. This year Nathan Fillion, Tim Curry and Lena Headey will be there, among others…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think it’s safe to say that Nathan Fillion, Tim Curry and Lena Heady beat the guests I talked about! (Unless we have a string of last minute Hollywood announcements but I highly doubt that will happen) Just Googled it and seen you’re getting the Rick and Morty Creators AND Matt Smith and Karen Gillan as well, I shouldn’t have looked I’m jealous now! Guess I’m adding Toronto to my future travel plans!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Eleven from Stranger Things would be so cool. You don’t need creative talent really, it’s all about having fun! I like going to charity shops and getting stuff that looks the part or that I could cut up to make a costume, that’s the best part for me. You should get a box of Eggos to carry round (and in case you get hungry too)

        Like

      2. I think I may have found a pink dress that will work so I’m off to a good start. One day I’d really like to do a Cheetara cosplay – I’ll save that one for when I’m feeling a little more confident!

        Like

Leave a Reply

